Footprint Awards shortlist reveals industry’s green leaders

THE SHORTLIST for the prestigious Footprint Awards has been announced, revealing the foodservice and hospitality sector’s leading sustainable companies.

Foodservice Footprint FPT2014123-300x199 Footprint Awards shortlist reveals industry’s green leaders Foodservice News and Information Out of Home sector news  Wyke farms WRAP Winterhalter Winnow Wakehurst Place University of Reading University of Manchester University of Leeds University of Exeter University of Brighton Unilever Food Solutions TUCO Total Tate & Lyle Sugars Spirit Pub Company Solo Cup Sodexo UK & Ireland Smith Anderson Group Simply cups Reynolds Pret A Manger Nick Fenwicke-Clennell Nestle Professional MKN Mary McGrath Kuehne+Nagel Johnson's Stalbridge Innocent Drinks Huhtamaki UK House of Lords Harper Adams University Greggs plc Green10 Gram UK Footprint Awards 2015 Footprint FoodCycle Fairtrade Foundation Essential Cuisine Enterprise Inns Plc Elior UK Eating Better Dr. Richard Swannell Delta Print & Packaging Compass Group UK & Ireland Charles Miers Brita Professional Bidvest 3663 Baroness Scott of Needham Market Ampersand Catering Allegra McEvedy Acquire ABP Ellesmere Development











The annual awards scheme this year celebrates its fifth anniversary, and remains the only initiative to honour the sustainable achievements of companies across the entire food supply chain.


Organised by sustainability champion Footprint, and judged by senior industry peers, the Footprint Awards have become synonymous with best practice and dedication to sustainability. Now in its second half decade, the Awards have seen yet another record number of entries evidencing the increased importance placed on sustainability within the corporate policy mix.


There are 13 awards in total, 11 open to nominations, and two – the Community Vote and Special Achievement Award, which are in the hands of the public and a special team of Footprint judges.


The shortlists for the award categories open to nominations are:


Sustainable Use of Natural Resources Award (sponsored by Zip Heaters)

Wyke Farms

Smith Anderson Group

Johnsons Stalbridge


Innovations in Packaging Award (sponsored by innocent drinks)

Delta Print & Packaging

Huhtamaki UK


Waste Management & Reduction Award (sponsored by Spirit Pub Company)

Ampersand Catering and Wakehurst Place

Simply Cups

Unilever Food Solutions



Environmentally Friendly Logistics Award (sponsored by Nestle Professional)

Bidvest 3663

Elior UK

Greggs plc

Kuehne + Nagel


Sustainable Sourcing Award (sponsored by Red Tractor)


Nestle Professional

Prêt A Manger

University of Brighton


Sustainable Supplier Award


Brita Professional

Johnsons Stalbridge

University of Manchester


Energy Efficiency Award (sponsored by Johnson’s Stalbridge)

ABP Ellesmere Development

Spirit Pub Company in assoc with Inenco and Total

University of Reading

Wyke Farms


Sustainable Catering Equipment Manufacturer Award (sponsored by Sodexo UK & Ireland)

Gram UK




Stakeholder Engagement Award (sponsored by Green10)

Eating Better

Sodexo UK & Ireland

Spirit Pub Company



Social Impact and Diversity Award (sponsored by Kuehne+Nagel)

Compass Group UK & Ireland

Enterprise Inns Plc

innocent drinks

Tate & Lyle Sugars


Sustainability in Education (sponsored by TUCO)

Harper Adams University

University of Exeter

University of Leeds

University of Reading


Nominees for the Special Achievement Award, sponsored by Essential Cuisine, have also been announced:

Allegra McEvedy, a patron of Fairtrade Foundation, for services to the sustainable and ethical supply chain

Baroness Scott of Needham Market, House of Lords, for driving governmental action on food waste

Dr Richard Swannell, WRAP, for ongoing engagement with industry in the fight against waste

Mary McGrath, FoodCycle, for efforts in pioneering the charitable redistribution of surplus food


Nominees for the Community Vote, sponsored by Reynolds, will be announced in May.


Nick Fenwicke-Clennell, Footprint CEO commented: “This is a very special year for us as we celebrate our fifth anniversary. What we are most proud of is the support we have received through the increased number of entries from an expanding number of business within the food sector.


“This shortlist, and the increasing level of engagement we are seeing, is testament to the fact that sustainability is no longer a buzzword but a critical issue very much embedded in business plans and acknowledged as an area that can really add value to operations. That does not mean, however, that the challenges are overcome. The goalposts continue to move and there is certainly no room for complacency for those organisations who want to continue to make their mark in this area.”


Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held at East Wintergarden in London, on 4th June 2015. For tickets CLICK HERE


VIEW last years Footprint Awards Dinner.