FOOTPRINT AWARDS 2013 Special Achievement Nominations Announced

FROM A Secretary of State to Jimmy Doherty of Jimmy’s Farm, the incredibly diverse shortlist of nominees for the Special Achievement Award in the 2013 Footprint Awards, has been announced today.

Foodservice Footprint photo_735-300x199 FOOTPRINT AWARDS 2013 Special Achievement Nominations Announced Foodservice News and Information Out of Home sector news  St John Springboard Special Achievement Award RIBA Renata Nowak Raymond Blanc Owen Paterson Jimmy's Farm Jimmy Doherty ISS Footprint Media Group Footprint Awards 2013 Footprint Awards 2012 Fergus Henderson DEFRA David Clarke Cyrus Todiwala Charles Miers Cafe Spice Anne Pierce











The award – sponsored by BaxterStorey – recognises individual contribution to environmental, social and economic sustainability initiatives, and the nominees – all hoping to follow in the footsteps of last year’s winner Raymond Blanc – have been arbitrated by an expert judging panel. The selected individuals are;


• Anne Pierce, Springboard

• Jimmy Doherty, Jimmy’s Farm

• David Clarke, Red Tractor

• The Rt Hon Owen Paterson, Secretary of State

• Renata Nowak, ISS

• Cyrus Todiwala, Café Spice Namaste

• Fergus Henderson, St John Restaurant


Charles Miers, Footprint Media Group Managing Director said: “The Special Achievement Award is a true accolade, because as we all know, it is often the passion of individuals that drives forward excellent sustainability ideas. This diverse and far-reaching list of individuals have all been selected not only for their passion, but for the dedication they have shown to sustainability and responsible practice, and the inspiration of others within their work. The diversity of the list demonstrates the role that all manner of professionals working within the foodservice supply chain have to play in ensuring sustainability is key.”


Last year’s Special Achievement Award was won by Raymond Blanc, in recognition of his commitment to reinforcing messages of sustainability and responsible practice throughout the food supply chain.


On collecting his award he said: “You all have a huge responsibility as you are feeding thousands of people, which I know you are taking on board. As a result we will have a better food chain and more sustainable businesses.”


The Footprint Awards is the industry’s only awards scheme encouraging sustainability and responsible business throughout the supply chain. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held at RIBA, London on 23rd May.